How do I delete a folder that’s in use?

[Origin]: https://superuser.com/questions/2937/how-do-i-delete-a-folder-thats-in-use

Sometimes when I’m working in Windows I’ll get this prompt when I try to delete a directory:

Folder In Use
The action can't be completed because the folder is open in another program
Close the folder and try again.

However, the folder isn’t “in use” at all, and I don’t have it open. So how can I delete it short of rebooting?

shareimprove this question

There’s a native GUI for Windows:

Start>>All Programs>>Accessories>>System Tools>>Resource Monitor (or Run resmon.exe)

You can search for the “Associated Handles” using the searchbox (circled in red), and right click the process you want to end.


As an example, in the image below I could not delete my Eclipse directory. Searching for the Eclipse associated handles showed that the adb.exe had a handle to the directory. After ending the adb process, I could then delete the Eclipse directory.

enter image description here

shareimprove this answer
