Sql Server ‘Saving changes is not permitted’ error ► Prevent saving changes that require table re-creation

[Origin]: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/6810425/sql-server-saving-changes-is-not-permitted-error-prevent-saving-changes-that

When I create a table in SQL Server and save it, if I try to edit the table design, like change a column type from int to real, I get this error:

Saving changes is not permitted. The change you have made requires the following table to be dropped and re-created. You have either made changes to a table that can’t be recreated or enabled the option prevent saving changes that require the table to be re-created.

Why do I have to re-create the table? I just want to change a data type from smallint to real.

The table is empty, and I didn’t use it until now.

shareimprove this question

From Save (Not Permitted) Dialog Box on MSDN :

The Save (Not Permitted) dialog box warns you that saving changes is not permitted because the changes you have made require the listed tables to be dropped and re-created.

The following actions might require a table to be re-created:

  • Adding a new column to the middle of the table
  • Dropping a column
  • Changing column nullability
  • Changing the order of the columns
  • Changing the data type of a column <<<<

To change this option, on the Tools menu, click Options, expand Designers, and then click Table and Database Designers. Select or clear the Prevent saving changes that require the table to be re-created check box.

See Also Colt Kwong Blog Entry:
Saving changes is not permitted in SQL 2008 Management Studio

shareimprove this answer
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s